• Wix Facebook page

www.cookeuw.org   |   ©2017. All Rights Reserved.     |     Website Design: Joe Conner Designs​


​Cooke County United Way 2019 Officers

President - Lynn Switzer

Treasurer - Alyce Greer

Secretary - Debbie Sharp

2019 President Lynn Switzer

President’s Message

It is with great honor that I am able to serve Cooke County United Way as President of the Board of Directors.  It is my goal this year to educate the community about what Cooke County United Way does and to encourage involvement.  When United Way is mentioned the first thing that comes to mind is fundraising.  Fundraising is a large part of what we do but it is not all we do. 


CCUW is a LISTENER.  We have a team who reaches out to the people of Cooke County to find out what the needs are in our county.  This is done through Listening Sessions.  We want to make sure we keep on top of the needs of our community and to ensure that funds are going where they are needed. Feel free to participate in any of the Listening Sessions.


CCUW is a HELPER through our United We Read Program, Kids Care, Day of Caring and Stuff The Bus. The United We Read program is designed to have a positive impact on children’s literacy by providing books to children in our schools.  The Kids Care Program is designed for third graders in our community.  The teachers, in conjunction with CCUW, work with students on the importance of community service and community spirit.  The Day of Caring is a one day event that gathers volunteers from all walks of our community to work to assist with meeting various needs of our community.  Stuff The Bus program helps prepare children to start a new school year with all the necessary supplies.


CCUW is an EDUCATOR.  With our new Community Connections Forum we are working on bringing local non-profit agencies together to partner with 2-1-1.  We want to make sure everyone is educated on all the services provided by each entity.  Armed with this information we in a better position to provide guidance and support to our citizens.


As you can see, Cooke County United Way is more than fundraising.  As you look through our various programs and projects I think that you can find a place for you to volunteer and help CCUW. It can be as little as one project to help with or all of them.  In keeping with our campaign slogan this year I am hoping that you too will “Capture The Spirit”!

Committee Chairs & Event Coordinators

Standing Committees:

Allocation Chair

Campaign Chairs

Debbie Sharp

Chandra McMahan & Amanda Riley

Ad Hoc Committees:

Board Governance

Joey Anderson

Advisory Council:

Scott Trustee

Tim Turbeville

Class of 2019

Term 12-31-19

Joey Anderson

Lorene Nix

Kevin Sebade  

Debbie Sharp

Lynn Switzer

Class of 2021

Term 12-31-21 

Ryan Cox

Marlene Phillips

Wayne Twiner

Don Wood

Nortex Communications


Muenster State Bank

North Central Texas College

Switzer Oney Attorneys at Law

Safran Seats USA

City of Gainesville - Fire Chief

Nascoga Federal Credit Union

Left to right back row –

Joey Anderson, Pablo De Santiago, Marlene Phillips, Don Wood, and Ryan Cox


Left to right front row -

Alyce Greer, Lynn Switzer, Amanda Riley, and Debbie Sharp


Not pictured:

Lorene Nix, Kevin Sebade, Leaha Smith, Tim Turbeville, Wayne Twiner

Class of 2020

Term 12-31-20

Alyce Greer

Dillon Ott

Amanda Riley

Leaha Sweeney

Tim Turbeville

Gainesville ISD

Orteq Energy Technologies

Nascoga Federal Credit Union

North Texas Medical Center

First State Bank

Grayson College